The story

Old Rugged Cross

Living south of the hamlet of Mount Carmel, where the magnificent Roman Catholic Church, built in 1887, is a landmark and the cross can be seen for miles, the design, “The Old Rugged Cross” was an obvious choice. The design symbolizes this couple`s values of Faith, Family and Friends. The earth tones in the design represent the roots this family have in the municipality.

The second quilt block design-“Friendship” was chosen because its vibrant colour scheme ‘speaks’ to their strong feeling that they could not have chosen a nicer community in which to raise their family. Four of their children, now grown adults, have also chosen to make this municipality their home.

This farm was owned by the Potters family and later the Reid family, who called the farm “The Beth Dale Farm”, named after their only daughter.  The McCanns bought the farm after the Reids in 1974.

Name of sponsor of Barn Quilt : Barb and Larry McCann                                 


Friendship and Old Rugged Cross

                                        35393 Lieury Road, Parkhill, ON

Latitude : 43.22979 Longitude : -81.61731

See the barns on google maps